Research and Course Guides: Emerging Research Topics in Healthcare: COVID-19 (Coronavirus, SARS-CoV-2)

What is Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)?

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention:

On February 11, 2020 the World Health Organization announced an official name for the disease that is causing the 2019 novel coronavirus outbreak, first identified in Wuhan China. The new name of this disease is coronavirus disease 2019, abbreviated as COVID-19. In COVID-19, ‘CO’ stands for ‘corona,’ ‘VI’ for ‘virus,’ and ‘D’ for disease. Formerly, this disease was referred to as “2019 novel coronavirus” or “2019-nCoV”.

There are many types of human coronaviruses including some that commonly cause mild upper-respiratory tract illnesses. COVID-19 is a new disease, caused by a novel (or new) coronavirus that has not previously been seen in humans. The name of this disease was selected following the World Health Organization (WHO) best practiceexternal icon for naming of new human infectious diseases.

Research Starting Places

LitCovid
LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. It is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to 127,000 (and growing) research articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access.
Elsevier Novel Coronavirus Information Center
Elsevier’s free health and medical research on novel coronavirus (COVID-19)
Emerald Coronavirus and the Management of Epidemics
Free research resources related to the Coronavirus group of viruses, and epidemics more broadly. Content will be available throughout the pandemic.
New England Journal of Medicine Coronavirus (Covid-19)
A collection of articles and other resources on the Coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak, including clinical reports, management guidelines, and commentary.
Ovid Coronavirus Resources and Tools
In response to the outbreak of a new coronavirus, 2019-nCoV, Ovid has created a dedicated site, featuring expert searches, a widget and a link to access GIDEON — Global Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology Network. Additional content is continually added as it becomes available.
Oxford University Press Resources on Coronavirus and Related Topics
With the recent coronavirus situation, Oxford University Press has made content from online resources and leading journals freely accessible to assist researchers, medical professionals, policy makers, and others who are working to address this potential health crisis.
Springer Nature Coronavirus Research
As a leading research publisher, Springer Nature is committed to supporting the global response to emerging outbreaks by enabling fast and direct access to the latest available research, evidence, and data. Contains articles, commentary, and books related to coronavirus, with complementary free access.
Wiley Novel Coronavirus
Covid-19: Novel Coronavirus Content Free to Access. In addition to the articles on this site related to the current outbreak, Wiley is also making a collection of journal articles and our book chapters on coronavirus research freely available to the global scientific community. On workdays, newly published articles are made free within 24 hours of publication. Articles published after 14:00 (EST) on Friday will be made free the following Monday.
Wolters Kluwer COVID-19 Tools and Resources for Clinicians
COVID-19 resources for front-line clinicians and medical researchers in response to the global pandemic.
ProQuest Coronavirus Research Database
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.

Point of Care Tools and Guidelines

DynaMed COVID-19 (Novel Coronavirus)
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other healthcare professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care,' with clinically-organized summaries on selected topics. The COVID-19 summary is available to access for free without a DynaMed subscription.
UptoDate Society Guideline Links
This topic includes links to society and government-sponsored guidelines from selected countries and regions around the world. We will update these links periodically; newer versions of some guidelines may be available on each society's website. Some societies may require users to log in to access their guidelines.

GIS and Map-related Resources

Coronavirus (COVID-19) GIS Hub
This COVID-19 ArcGIS Hub is designed to gather and share relevant, and authoritative, community driven resources from around the world in an effort to increase preparedness.

This site is designed to aid with real-time monitoring, to catalog GIS data that supports mapping and analysis, and to increase overall community preparedness with general public health resources and media stories related to COVID-19.
Johns Hopkins Coronavirus Resource Center Map
Coronavirus COVID-19 Global Cases by the Center for Systems Science and Engineering (CSSE) at Johns Hopkins University (JHU)
Tableau Covid-19 Data Hub
The Tableau COVID-19 Data Hub contains resources to help you visualize and analyze the most recent data on the coronavirus outbreak. On the hub, we’ve created a jumpstart workbook, pre-loaded with COVID-19 case data, that anyone can download and use for their analysis.

Multilingual COVID-19 Resources

Communication Toolkit for Migrants, Refugees, and Other Limited-English-Proficient Populations
CDC created this communication toolkit in 28 different languages to help public health professionals, health departments, community organizations, and healthcare systems and providers reach populations who may need COVID-19 prevention messaging in their native languages.
Centros para el Control y la Prevención de Enfermedades Recursos para COVID-19 / CDC Resources for COVID-19
Esta guía de recursos está destinada a proporcionar recursos informativos de los CDC relacionados con COVID-19 en español.

This resource guide is intended to provide informational resources from the CDC related to COVID-19 in Spanish.
Biblioteca Médica Virtual Enlaces y Recursos Sobre COVID-19
Compiled resources in Spanish relating to COVID-19

Databases

PubMed (with Clemson links) This link opens in a new window
human and veterinary medicine and healthcare information, including Medline; mid-1960s-present
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
human and veterinary medicine and healthcare; mid-1960s-present
Ovid Emcare This link opens in a new window
Ovid Emcare provides access to 3,700+ international journals, more than 70,000 preferred terms in EMTREE, all mapped to MEDLINE’s MeSH, and nearly 5 million records dating back to 1995, updated weekly.
Web of Science - All Databases This link opens in a new window
includes Web of Science Core Collection, Biosis (Citation Index & Previews), Current Contents, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, KCI-Korean Journals, MEDLINE, Russian Science Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, and Zoological Record

Emerging Research Topics in Healthcare

Clemson University Resources

Organizations

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

World Health Organization (WHO)

Suggested Search Terms

("Coronavirus 2019" OR 2019-nCoV OR nCoV OR COVID-19 OR "Severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2" OR SARS-CoV-2)