Research and Course Guides: Engineering: Standards

Need a standard that Clemson doesn't have access to?

If you need the full text of a standard from an organization that Clemson doesn't have a subscription to (ANSI, ISO, IEC, etc.) you may request that we purchase a copy of the standard via Interlibrary Loan/ILLIAD:

Order a Standard

Use the 'Request Material From Another Library-Standards Document' form option

BEFORE ORDERING A STANDARD: Check below to see if the standard you need is already available via a Clemson subscription (ASTM, SAE, IEEE etc.); if Clemson has a subscription, you should be able to search for the standard in the databases linked below and access the full text yourself immediately.

Standards Databases where you can access FULL TEXT of standards (Clemson has a subscription)

ASTM Standards & Digital Library This link opens in a new window
This resource includes all active ASTM Standards documents plus almost every book and paper published by ASTM International.

If you encounter a problem when accessing ASTM, please try a different browser. Contact the Libraries if you experience trouble using the platform.
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
Ground Vehicle Standards from the Society of Automotive Engineers
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics from IEEE journals and conference proceedings. Also includes all current IEEE standards.
ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
eBooks, standards, and journal and periodical articles published by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE); includes conference proceedings 1993-present
ASABE Standards This link opens in a new window
standards issued by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE)
TAPPI Standards This link opens in a new window
test methods and other documents about pulp or paper - search by subject or document number

Other Standards Databases

NOTE: You can SEARCH in these databases, but Clemson does not have a subscription to these standards, so you will not be able to access full text. If you need the full text of one of these standards (ASME, ANSI, ISO, IEC, or another standards organization), you may request that we purchase a copy via Interlibrary Loan:

Order a Standard

Use the 'Request Material From Another Library-Standards Document' form option

_____________________________________________________________________________

ASME Standards
Standards from The American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
A searchable database of ISO, IEC, and ANSI standards
International Organization for Standardization (ISO)
A searchable database of ISO standards and standards "Under Development"
International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC)
IEC International Standards for all electrical, electronic and related technologies.
American Society of Heating, Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE)

Freely Accessible Government Standards

National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
Government agency whose mission is to "promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life"
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) Regulations
Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards issued by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) Standards
OSHA's mission is to ensure that employees work in a safe and healthful environment by setting and enforcing standards

Older Print Standards at Clemson Libraries

Older standards that have been purchased in print over the years are available as part of the Cooper Library collection; most of these have been issued by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI), or affiliated organizations. These older print standards are located on the 5th floor of Cooper Library, call number TA368 .A512. They are filed in alpha-numeric order, first by the name of the issuing organization, and then by the number. (i.e. ansi Z 49.0 and ANSI/ISA-S84). Unfortunately, individual standards are NOT listed in the Library catalog.

Technical Manual of the American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists
Call Number: TP890 .A5a
ISBN: 9781942323013
Test Methods, evaluation procedures and more from the American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists

Engineering

What is a standard? Why are they important?

Standards Identifiers

Need a standard that Clemson doesn't have access to?

Standards Databases where you can access FULL TEXT of standards (Clemson has a subscription)

Other Standards Databases

Freely Accessible Government Standards

Older Print Standards at Clemson Libraries