Introduction to Data Visualization Lab
Start here to learn about the Data Visualization Lab: services, facilities, supported tools, and how to access help and trainings. (The video starts at 02:30)
Excel Made Easy
The user manual is designed to introduce beginners to Microsoft Excel in a simple and easy-to-follow manner. It covers the fundamental features of Excel, including data entry, formatting, formulas, charts, and basic data analysis. Whether you’re a student, faculty, staff or just someone looking to improve productivity, this guide will help you navigate Excel with confidence. With step-by-step instructions, clear visuals, and practical examples, you’ll learn how to use excel efficiently for everyday tasks.
Power BI Basics
This guide provides a step-by-step process for creating impactful dashboards using Power BI. It’s designed for beginners and covers fundamental concepts, including importing data, creating visualizations, and building interactive dashboards.
Python Guide
This guide offers a step-by-step introduction to Python programming for beginners. It covers essential concepts such as writing basic scripts, working with data types, using control structures, and handling files. Whether you're completely new to coding or transitioning from another language, this manual will help you build a strong foundation in Python with clear explanations and practical examples.
Qualtrics Guide
From Questions to Qualtrics – Crafting Your First Survey is a quick-start guide for beginners looking to create their first survey in Qualtrics. This manual covers the basics of building, customizing, and distributing surveys, with simple step-by-step instructions. By the end, you’ll be ready to design clear, effective surveys and collect responses with confidence.
Matlab Tutorial
Self-paced Matlab Academy courses from MathWorks covering fundamentals, programming, data visualization, and analysis—ideal for beginners and those refreshing core skills.
R Guide
This guide provides a step-by-step introduction to programming in R using RStudio. It’s designed for beginners and covers essential concepts, including navigating the RStudio interface, writing and executing R code, understanding data types and structures, and working with functions and packages. By the end of this manual, you'll be equipped to write basic R scripts, manipulate data, and lay the groundwork for more advanced analysis and visualization.
Power BI Instructional Video
This short instructional video demonstrates the fundamentals of creating and customizing dashboards in Power BI. It provides a concise, hands-on walkthrough of key features, helping viewers quickly gain confidence in using the tool for data visualization tasks.
SQL Basics
Designed for beginners, this guide walks you through the essential SQL concepts you need to start working with databases. By the end, you’ll be able to write your own queries and explore data with ease.
Data Scraping
This guide provides a step-by-step process for extracting and processing data through web scraping. It is designed for beginners and covers fundamental concepts, including fetching data from websites, parsing HTML structures, and organizing extracted information for analysis.
Building Interactive Dashboards in RStudio
This manual provides a step-by-step guide to building an interactive dashboard in R using the Flexdashboard package. Aimed at beginners with basic R knowledge, it details the steps to build a simple dashboard featuring charts, controlled by a slider and a dataset dropdown.
RAWGraphs
This guide provides a step-by-step introduction to creating visualizations with RAWGraphs. Learn to import datasets, choose chart types, map data dimensions, customize designs, and export publication-ready graphics such as alluvial diagrams and treemaps.
Looker Studio
Looker Studio (formerly Google Data Studio) is a free, web-based data visualization tool by Google that allows users to transform raw data into interactive, shareable dashboards and reports. It connects seamlessly with various data sources such as Google Sheets, Big Query, and Google Analytics, enabling users to create dynamic visuals without coding. With its intuitive drag-and-drop interface, customizable charts, and real-time data updates, Looker Studio helps analysts, students, and organizations turn complex data into clear, actionable insights. It also supports collaborative editing and sharing, making it an ideal platform for data storytelling, academic projects, and business decision-making.