Diet and Nutrition in Obesity by
This addition to the British Dietetic Association Advanced Nutrition and Dietetics book series is written for clinicians and researchers who work with any aspect of obesity and its comorbid conditions. Featuring contributions from leading researchers and practitioners from around the globe Advanced Nutrition and Dietetics in Obesity offers a uniquely international perspective on what has become a worldwide public health crisis. Chapters cover a full range of new ideas and research on the underlying drivers of obesity in populations including discussions on the genetic and clinical aspects of obesity, along with expert recommendations on how to effectively manage and prevent this chronic and persistent disease. Providing a comprehensive overview of the key literature in this field, Advanced Nutrition and Dietetics in Obesity is an invaluable resource for all those whose work should or does embrace any aspect of obesity.
Eating Disorders by
Contains articles presenting various sides of the debate over eating disorders, including if it is a serious problem, what causes eating disorders, and how eating disorders should be treated.
The Eating Disorders Sourcebook by
Sound, sensitive advice for overcoming an eating disorder Anorexia, bulimia, binge eating, exercise addictions . . . these disorders can be devastating, but they are in no way unbeatable. Therapist Carolyn Costin, herself recovered from anorexia, brings three decades of experience and the newest research in the field together, providing readers with the latest treatments, from medication and behavioral therapy to alternative remedies. Whether you are living with an eating disorder or you are a loved one or professional helping someone who is, The Eating Disorder Sourcebook will help you: Recognize and identify eating disorders Discover and work with the underlying causes of an eating disorder Make the right choices when comparing treatment options Understand what is expected in individual, group, and family therapy Know when outpatient treatment is not enough and what else can be done
Fat: Fighting the obesity epidemic by
When the leptin gene was discovered in 1994, news articles predicted that there might soon be an easy, pharmaceutical solution to the growing public health crisis of obesity. Yet this scientific breakthrough merely proved once again how difficult the fight against fat really is. Despite themany appetite-suppressants, diet pills, and weight-loss programs available today, approximately 30 percent of Americans are obese. And that number is expanding rapidly.Fat is the engaging story of the scientific quest to understand and control body weight. Covering the entire twentieth century, Robert Pool chronicles the evolving blame-game for fat--from being a result of undisciplined behavior to subconscious conflicts, physiological disease, andenvironmental excess. Readers in today's weight-conscious society will be surprised to learn that being overweight was actually encouraged by doctors and popular health magazines up until the 1930s, when the health risks associated with being overweight were publicly recognized. Thus began decadesof research and experiments that subsequently explained appetite, metabolism, and the development of fat cells. Pool effectively reanimates the colorful characters, curious experiments, brilliant insights and wrong turns that led to contemporary scientific understanding of America's epidemic.While he acknowledges the advances in the pharmacological fight against flab, he underscores that the real problem of obesity is not losing the weight but keeping it off. Drugs offer a quick fix, but they aren't the ultimate answer. American society must remedy the unhealthy daily environments ofits cities and towns, and those who have struggled with their weight and have experienced the "yo-yo" cycle of dieting must understand the underlying science of body weight that makes their struggle more than a question of willpower.
Handbook of Eating Disorders and Obesity by
Up-to-date coverage on the assessment and treatment of eatingdisorders and obesity Featuring contributions from an international group of experts, theHandbook of Eating Disorders and Obesity is a broad-based resourcethat explores the major classifications of eating disorders:anorexia nervosa, bulimia nervosa, and binge eating disorder. Thisgroundbreaking reference also offers a thorough review of the areaof obesity, along with a specialized focus on body imagedisturbances, including body dysmorphic disorder. This comprehensive handbook presents the latest information inmultiple areas of research and practice, highlighting risk factors,assessment, treatment, and prevention of eating disorders andobesity. Practical guidelines for implementing treatment strategiesare supplemented with insightful clinical case studies and helpfulexplanations illustrating real-world applications of treatmentcomponents. Special coverage in this volume addresses such timely topicsas: * Cosmetic surgery and cosmetic medical treatments * How the media influences eating disorders * Weight and shape concerns of boys and men * Cross-cultural aspects of eating disorders * Child sexual abuse and eating disorders * A feminist approach to eating disorders The Handbook of Eating Disorders and Obesity offers mental healthand medical professionals, as well as students, the most currentinformation available on every aspect of this troubling andpervasive societal problem. "This remarkably comprehensive and current resource will be anindispensable addition to the libraries of clinicians and scholarsalike. The chapters represent a rich synthesis of the wide-rangingpsychosocial and biological investigations of obesity and eatingdisorders, and the equally diverse approaches to their clinicalmanagement." -Michael Strober, PhD, David Geffen School of Medicine atUCLA Editor in Chief, International Journal of Eating Disorders "This impressive handbook offers, in one volume, a finedistillation of contemporary knowledge and best practice in thecomplex and interrelated areas of body image disturbance, eatingdisorders, and obesity. The explicit integration of currentresearch with current clinical practice makes this volume stand outand will ensure its place as an indispensable resource for boththose wishing to get up to speed and for established researchersand clinicians alike." -Marika Tiggemann, PhD, Flinders University, Australia Associate Editor, Body Image: An International Journal of Research
Psychological Responses to Eating Disorders and Obesity by
This is an edited book that brings together many of the mostdistinguished researchers and clinicians in the field of foodmisuse. The papers included are drawn from the conferences onpsychological approaches to eating disorders and obesity held atthe University of Hertfordshire in 2005 and 2006. It presentscurrent research while focusing on the application of thisnew knowledge. It covers both eating disorders and obesity in one volume, thuspositioning obesity firmly at one end of the food misuse continuum.Chapters will cover subjects such as psychological and culturalaspects of food use, using CBT for treating eating disorders, andCBT group therapy for obesity.