Research and Course Guides: Geography: Scholarly Articles

Key Databases for Articles

The Libraries subscribe to more than 400 databases (searchable computerized files) that cover journal articles from every discipline. Here are some highlights for historical research:

Current Geographical Publications
A non-profit service to the scholarly community since it was initiated in 1938 by the American Geographical Society. Beginning in 2006, the format has been changed to include the tables of contents of current geographical journals. The journal titles listed are links to web pages of the current issue's contents.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A great starting point for full-text articles from geography journals, as well as periodicals that publish book reviews
Google Scholar (with Clemson links) This link opens in a new window
If you are on the campus network, this source will often link to full text articles from online journals subscribed to by the Clemson Libraries.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
legal news, law reviews, cases, codes, etc.; polls and surveys (in Reference section), past 10 years plus
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
government and public administration, public and social policy, international relations, 1915-present
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
index to important journals in all areas of the humanities and social sciences, 1907-1984
(limited to 1 simultaneous user)
This database provided courtesy of the Class of '55.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new window
university research institute working papers, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, journals and policy briefs, as well as original case studies written by leading international affairs experts and course packs of background readings

Tips for Article Searching

In many databases, adding the word "review" to a search for phrases from the book's title will find book reviews.

Other databases allow you to check a box or select reviews.

Academic Search Complete, on the initial page, choose Document Type "Book Review"
JSTOR, in the Advanced Search, check the Item Type box beside "Review"
Iter, in the Advanced Search, select Type of Work "Review"

Geography

I want full-text articles!

What if Clemson Doesn't Have the Article Online?

Key Databases for Articles

Tips for Article Searching