Research and Course Guides: Social Science Data Sources: Historical Statistics & Maps

Historical Statistics - General

Historical Statistics of the United States
Demographic, economic, social, & political statistics, mid-1600s-2000 (Clemson subscription)

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Call Number: Online
Datapedia of the United States by George Thomas Kurian
Call Number: HA202 .K87 2004
ISBN: 0890598622
Publication Date: 2004-05-21
Based on "Historical Statistics of the United States from Colonial Times" this new edition is a one-reference source to the best available data in the United States.

Social Explorer
Access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change. Clemson subscription (limited to 1 user at a time).

National Center for Health Statistics
search or scroll down to browse by available subjects and categories
National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS)
data from the U.S. Department of Agriculture
Digest of Education Statistics
U.S. education statistic compilations for kindergarten to graduate school

Maps & Data: Census Geography
Find geographic data and products such as the TIGER/Line Shapefiles, KMLs, TIGERweb, cartographic boundary files, geographic relationship files, and reference and thematic maps.
Digital Sanborn Maps 1867-1970, South Carolina only
Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to 1 inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property.
U.S. Historical City Maps
From the Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas at Austin.
Atlas of Historical County Boundaries
The Atlas presents in maps and text complete data about the creation and all subsequent changes (dated to the day) in the size, shape, and location of every county in the fifty United States and the District of Columbia.
Old Maps Online
This portal allows the user to search for online digital historical maps across numerous different collections via a geographical search.
United States Historical Maps - Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Coverage includes maps showing Early Inhabitants, Exploration & Settlement, Territorial Growth, Military History, etc. The PCL Map Collection link leads to much wider geographical & topical coverage.
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
The historical map collection has over 37,000 maps & images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th & 19th century North American & South American maps & other cartographic materials.

International Monetary Fund
This includes approximately 32,000 time series for more than 200 countries and areas plus exchange rate series, major fund accounts series and country, world, and commodity price tables.

Voyages: the Transatlantic Slave Trade Database
Access to 4 databases (Voyages, Estimates, Images, and African Names) with information on almost 35,000 slaving voyages transporting over 10 million Africans between the 16th and 19th centuries." Data includes summary statistics, timelines, graphs, maps

International Monetary Fund
This includes approximately 32,000 time series for more than 200 countries and areas plus exchange rate series, major fund accounts series and country, world, and commodity price tables.