Research and Course Guides: PO SC 4360: Law, Courts & Politics: Articles

Free from the Web

Guide to Law Online: Law Reviews Online
From the Law Library of Congress, an alphabetically arranged list of dozens of freely available US law reviews.
American Law Sources Online: Law Reviews & Periodicals
Titles listed in bold type offer free online access.

Journals Search Link
Check the citation for the name of the journal, then use this link to see if we own the journal volume you need. Don't search for article title.
If Clemson Doesn't Own It: Interlibrary Loan Service
Request articles from other libraries with this free service; they often arrive quickly via email as PDFs

All are Clemson subscriptions, except Google Scholar (see note below).

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
The Law Journal Library contains more than 1,700 law & law-related periodicals.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
News, journal, law review & magazine articles; transcripts; legal materials; all in full text
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books Full Text This link opens in a new window
Complete coverage of the most important English language legal information, with international coverage of scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, etc. Full text is available for over 400 periodicals, many of them peer-reviewed, as far back as 1994.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of full-text scholarly journals, including nearly 100 important law titles.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Political Science Complete (PSC) provides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the database.
Google Scholar (with Clemson links) This link opens in a new window
Accessing this search tool from the CU campus network will allow you to view articles from journals to which we subscribe.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Covers issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources including journal articles, books, government documents, & much more

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Open "Law Journal Library" by clicking in left sidebar. Click on "Search" tab at top of page, then click "Advanced Search" beneath Search box.

In right panel, scroll down in "Subject" box to desired topic & click on it. A list of journal title abbreviations will show those you will be searching. You can also customize the section types to be searched.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
In left sidebar under General Searching, choose "Advanced Search."

In right panel, choose "Subject" from the Add Index Terms box. Check box beside desired topic.

Next, in the Select Source - By Type box click on "US Law Reviews" in the drop down menu. Enter your search terms in the box above.