Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
1. What is RefWorks?
RefWorks is a bibliography manager that allows you to create your own personal database of citations by importing references from text files or online databases.
You can use these references while writing your papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.
2. How do I sign up?
Clemson University provides a RefWorks subscription for all students, faculty, and staff.
First-Time Users need to create a RefWorks account with a personal login and password.
Visit the RefWorks homepage, click "Sign Up for a New Account", and follow the directions
Off campus or on campus wireless
- Log into our secure page (with your Clemson username and password) to get the Clemson group code
- Visit the RefWorks main page
- Click "Sign Up for a New Account"
- Leave the radio button in the box that says “I have a Group Code” and enter the code
- Follow the instructions to set up an account
Once you have created your RefWorks account, you can access it from anywhere. When on campus, simply sign in to RefWorks.
From off-campus, visit RefWorks and enter Clemson's Group Code. Click Go To Login, then enter your personal login and password.
3. What is the Group Code?
In addition to your personal login and password, RefWorks requires a Group Code to work correctly off-campus. To receive the group code, you will need to log into our site with your Clemson username and password.
Remote Users may also have trouble with the "Direct Export" function in some databases. You can always import references manually if the Direct Export feature does not work.
4. How do I create a standalone bibliography?
- Click the Bibliography menu and select Create
- Under Output Style, select the appropriate style.
- Click Format a Bibliography from a List of References (if this area is not already expanded).
- Under File Type, select the file format you wish to create (Text, HTML, RTF (Rich Text), Word for Windows (2000 or later, or Word for Mac (98 or later) or OpenOffice (.odt).
- Under Reference to Include, select All References, My List or >References from <folder name>
- Click Create Bibliography.
- Follow your browser's instructions for viewing the file and be sure to save the document to your computer before closing.
407A Cooper Library