Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sociological Index with Full Text (SIFT)
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
JSTOR includes over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Annual review articles in a variety of disciplines (including sociology, law & social science, and anthropology)
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984
Index to important journals in all areas of the humanities and social sciences, 1907-1984 (limited to 1 simultaneous user)
issues of aging and the population of people aged 50 years and older; updated weekly
Other Subject Databases
Database lists by subject
On the Libraries' Database A-Z list, use the drop-down list under All Subjects to see the Best Bets for databases in each subject at Clemson
This link should allow you to access Clemson materials off-campus. (It takes you through the Libraries' proxy server.)
Scholar works similar to a regular Google search. You use boolean logic and may create single strings by placing " before and after more than one word, but remember that the string must match exactly so spelling counts.
Advanced search lets you limit by publication year to find recent articles or by discipline to find research only in the social sciences/humanities.
Look for more current articles that cite an older paper you've already found. If you have a perfectly relevant piece of research from 2001, articles that have that paper in their bibliographies are likely to be more recent updates about the same topic.
Here's how you do it:
- On the opening search page, choose the Cited Reference Search link above the search boxes.
- Enter the name of the author of your article as shown, always with the asterisk! If the last name is a common one and the author uses his or her middle initial, you should include it: Mobley C* Haller WJ*
- Fill in the Cited Year - the year the article that you found was published.
- Click on Search
- Look for the Cited Work that matches the journal title you have and the page number, if there is more than one. Click on View Record next to the correct article*.
- Click on the number next to Times Cited to bring up the links to all of the articles that have that paper in their bibliographies. Now you can jump back and forth from citation to citation.
*If the correct Cited Work listing does not have a View Record link:
- Click the Select box next to the author's name for that listing
- Click on the Finish Search button to bring up all of the articles that cite that original paper.
Family Studies Abstracts
Covers marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
indexes journals in criminal justice and criminology with 320+ full-text journals, magazines, books, and monographs
This database chronicles issues in government and public administration, public and social policy, and international relations through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources.
Child Abuse, Child Welfare, and Adoption
Produced by the National Clearinghouse on Child Abuse and Neglect Information. Citations and abstracts are to books, audiovisual and multimedia materials, journal articles, final reports from federally-funded grants, conference papers, unpublished papers, reports on completed or continuing research, as well as descriptions of service programs and prevention and treatment strategies.