Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Quick Links: Key Planning Resources
Use the Find Articles tab for a more comprehensive list of resouces.
Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 51,600 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
UrbanFootprint This link opens in a new window
This is an urban planning tool with comprehensive land use data and thousands of environmental, social, and mobility datasets.
Access is on a class-by-class basis due to the nature of the resource. Please contact the City Planning subject librarian to establish access for your class.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, economics, and more in communities across the U.S.
Art, Design, & Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
includes ARTbibliographies Modern, Design & Applied Arts Index, Arts & Humanities Database, and International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The gold standard index to professional, scholarly, and popular journals in architecture, planning, landscape architecture, interior design, and related fields. Citations, 1930s-present; abstracts, 1990s-present; selective coverage back to the 1860s. Citations and abstracts only. Limiting to peer-reviewed results is not an option.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Strong on sustainability and transportation research. Incorporates Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management, AGRICOLA, Environmental Impacts Statements Digest, and more.
Ecology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
includes habitats, food chains, erosion, evolutionary biology, systems analysis, and more; 1982-present
Sociological Index with Full Text (SIFT) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles, book chapters, and papers in the fields of sociology, anthropology, criminology, demography, educaton, law and penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies. Many journals are full-text, as are 750 books and 7,000 conference papers. Covers 1895-present.
TRID This link opens in a new window
Integrated search of the combined TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) and OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) databases. Public access resource.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Excellent for topic searches across a range of subjects, but especially useful for identifying articles that cite a seminal or 'benchmark' resource (use 'Cited Ref' search). Web of Science includes Science Citation Index (1965-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present), and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975-present) Exclusively academic--does not cover magazines or professional design reviews literature.
Library Research Tools
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
TigerPrints This link opens in a new window
Clemson theses & dissertations. For terminal projects, select 'Student Works,' then 'Non-thesis final projects.' Requires Clemson VPN connection.