Research and Course Guides: Chemistry: Handbooks & Data Sources

Finding Chemical & Physical Data

Locating data on a specific compound can be challenging. Try the more general online sources listed on this page first. SciFinder also provides extensive experimental and predicted property data for substances, which may include IR, MS, 1H NMR, 13C NMR, and Raman spectra.

The Sadtler Standard Spectra is one of the largest collection of chemical spectra, which ceased publication in 1996. Most of the compounds in this collection are organic. The Sadtler Standard Spectra were previously available for browsing in Cooper Library, but have been moved into library storage. The volumes are still available; please consult with the chemistry librarian for access.

Selected Handbooks/Data Collections

CODATA Fundamental Physical Constants
NIST Reference on Constants, Units, and Uncertainty, one of the technical activities of the Fundamental Constants Data Center of the NIST Physical Measurement Laboratory.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
Contains most frequently used data in Chemistry and Physics, including basic constants, units, and conversion factors.
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry, and Technology This link opens in a new window
Critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. Features physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties.

POLYMERSNetBASE
Search or browse polymer science eBooks from Taylor & Francis.
IUPAC-NIST Solubility Database
Exhaustive compilation and critical evaluation of all the world's published results of experimental determinations of solubility.

Knovel Critical Tables This link opens in a new window
2nd Edition; includes tables covering Heat Capacity and Thermal Conductivity, Reaction Thermodynamics and Equilibrium Constants, Density and Compressibility, Vaporization and Vapor Pressure, Thermal Expansion, Transport and Flow, and Electrical Properties data.
Yaws' Handbook of Thermodynamic & Physical Properties of Chemical Compounds This link opens in a new window
Physical, thermodynamic, and transport property correlations for organic chemical compounds covering C1 to C70 organics. Data is provided in a tabular format with links to an interactive Equation Plotter Applet that graphically represents the temperature correlation relationships for 15 key properties.
SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new window
Provides curated data and advanced functionalities to support research in materials science, physics, chemistry, engineering, and other related fields. Includes the Landolt-Börnstein collection.

NIST Chemistry WebBook
Provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program. Consists mostly of organic compounds along with a few small inorganic compounds.
Organic Syntheses
Detailed, carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds.

Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook--9th Ed. This link opens in a new window
All aspects of chemical engineering, from the fundamentals to details on computer applications and control. Definitive reference for chemical and process engineers.
Smithsonian Physical Tables This link opens in a new window
Comprises 901 tables of common physical and chemical data of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics.

DIPPR Project 801, full version
Evaluated Process Design Data of physical, thermodynamic, and transport properties for industrially important chemicals used in chemical process and equipment design.

Databases for Spectra/Spectral Data

NIST Chemistry WebBook
Includes IR, MS, UV/Vis data and more from the U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). Spectra can be searched by formula, chemical name, CAS number, structure, and by selected physical property data.
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)
Includes IR, ESR, MS, 1H NMR, 13C NMR, and Raman spectral data from Japan’s National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST). The database can be searched by compound name, molecular formula, molecular weight, CAS number, numbers of certain atoms, and peak positions/chemical shifts.

Chemistry

Unit Conversion

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Finding Chemical & Physical Data

Selected Handbooks/Data Collections

Databases for Spectra/Spectral Data