How to find sources in Special Collections and Archives
Guides to the Manuscript Collections and the University Archives
- Not all finding aids are online. If you don’t find what you are looking for, contact Special Collections and Archives. They may have more information about materials that are not described online.
- Search tip: You may have to try more than one search to find what you need. If you do not get any results, try other terms, use more general or more specific terms, or try terms that were used in the era you are researching. Research staff may be able to suggest search terms for your topic.
What is a collection guide and why should I use it?
Also called a finding aid, a collection guide is like an inventory for a group of archival records, personal papers, or manuscripts. It is a tool to help researchers determine if the materials relate to their research, find where sources are located, and understand and interpret the materials they are using. A guide may be a brief summary or a detailed description and inventory. It contains information on:
- Who created the materials
- Dates of the records
- The history or biography of the creator of the records
- How the materials are organized
- Selected topics covered by the records
- The amount and types of material available
Can I see actual documents online?
In some cases, yes, but most documents in the Special Collections and Archives are not online at this time. Explore the Libraries Digital Collections site and also checkout TigerPrints to view select digitized historic collections.
