Research and Course Guides: African American History: Archives

Online Resources

Digital Library of American Slavery
An expanding resource compiling various, independent online collections focused upon race and slavery in the American South. Collections include Race and Slavery Petitions, NC Runaway Slave Advertisements, Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database, Slave Deeds of North Carolina, and Slavery Era Insurance Registries
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938
A collection of more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves.
Slave Biorgraphies
An open access data repository of information on the identities of enslaved people in the Atlantic World. It includes the names, ethnicities, skills, occupations, and illnesses of individual slaves.
Study of Global Slavery and the Slave Trade
A compilation of digital resources and projects related to the study of slavery.
Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection
An extensive collection at Cornell University of slavery and abolitionist materials gathered by Reverend Samuel Joseph May. The collection contains over 10,000 pamphlets and leaflets documenting the anti-slavery struggle at the local, regional, and national levels.
Slavery, Freedom, and Abolition in Latin America and Caribbean
Yale University's Libraries listing of online and selected archives primary resources
North American Slave Narratives
A collection of books and articles that document the individual and collective story of African Americans struggling for freedom and human rights in the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries.
South Carolina Dept. of Archives and History
State of South Carolina public records including register of deeds and court records.
South Carolina Digital Library
An online resource of historic materials including photographs, manuscripts, journals, books, oral histories, and objects from over 40 South Carolina historical institutions.

Archives & Historical Societies

Archives preserve the documents & records of an organization & may contain unique or rare items. In general, they do not lend & have specific policies for using their facitilites, making copies, etc.

Newspapers: Microfilm

South Carolina newspapers on microfilm & scanner/readers are located on the west side of Cooper Library's 4th (main) floor. A selection is listed here; for a detailed holdings list, consult our library catalog or the "Historical Newspapers" guide linked below.

Help with using microfilm is available at the Circulation Desk.

Aiken Standard (title varies) 1917-1935
Anderson Daily Mail 1900-1925; 1945-1949
Anderson Intelligencer Aug 1860 - Aug 1906; Jan 1914 - Jun 1916
Anderson Independent-Mail 1929 - present
Beaufort Gazette 1903-1973
Camden Chronicle Nov 1891 - Mar 1960
Charleston Gazette (various titles) 1732-1780s
Charleston News & Courier (& predecessors) 1803-1944; 1959 - Sep 1991
Charleston Post & Courier Oct 1991-- present
Chester Reporter Mar 1874 - Jun 1906
(Clemson) Messenger/Daily Messenger 1954 – 2009
(Clemson University) Tiger 1907 -- present
(Columbia) State Feb 1891 -- present
(Columbia) Palmetto Leader 1925 -- 1957
Darlington News & Press 1911-1939
Edgefield Advertiser Oct 1856 - Apr 1868
Florence Morning News 1924-1945; 1975-1995
Georgetown Times Jun 1868 - Dec 1904
Greenville Mountaineer 1829 - 1850
Greenville News 1900 – present
Orangeburg Times-Democrat Aug 1879 - Dec 1974
Pendleton Messenger (title varies) 1807 -1843
Pickens Sentinel Sep 1876 - Sep 1933
Rock Hill Evening Herald Jan 1880 - Dec 1974
(Seneca) Journal 2009 - present
(Sumter) Item (title varies) Oct 1960 - Sep 1995
(Walhalla) Keowee Courier 1849 – 1976
Yorkville Enquirer 1856 - 1889

All microfilm newspapers are listed in the catalog; those from outside South Carolina may be requested from off-site storage.

Historical Newspapers guide