Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These electronic sources will give you basic overviews of concepts in the discipline:
The Dictionary of Anthropology by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 1998-01-06
The Dictionary of Anthropology was designed to become the standard reference guide to the discipline of social and cultural anthropology. Its core consists of substantial analytical articles focusing on key anthropological concepts, theories and methodologies.
Dictionary of the social sciences
Oxford's Dictionary of the Social Sciences is designed to break down the barriers between social science disciplines, as well as to make social scientific language comprehensible to general readers. The Dictionary presents concise, clearly written definitions of more than 1,500 important terms.
Quick Links to Key Anthropology Resources
Search for articles on social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies, late 1800s-present. Use "Search the catalog at your library" link to find article text.
Searchable, full-text access to the journals of the American Anthropological Association.
Launched in 2008, HathiTrust has a growing membership currently comprising more than 140 members. Over the last ten years, members have contributed more than 16 million volumes to the digital library, digitized from their library collections through a number of means including Google and Internet Archive digitization and in-house initiatives. More than 6 million of the contributed volumes are in the public domain and freely available online. To log in as a Clemson University member: click on the yellow LOG IN box on the right, select Clemson University from the dropdown menu, then Continue and log in to the network.
SAGE Research Methods
Sage Research Methods
Full text from SAGE's books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and selected journal articles and videos plus case studies and data sets. Can be used to help design research projects and learn about specific qualitative and quantitative methods.