Research and Course Guides: Global Black Studies: Home

Best bets

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies; late 1800s-present
Anthrosource This link opens in a new window
all aspects of anthropology; coverage dates vary by publication
African-American History This link opens in a new window
Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture. Designed more for secondary education students.
World Newspaper Archive - African Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This includes African Newspapers Series I: 1835-1925 and Series II: 1800-1922 with diverse titles from Africa.

These electronic sources will give you basic overviews of concepts in the discipline:

Dictionary of Anthropology [Blackwell]
Click on the full text of the book and then search for your topic.
Routledge Encyclopedia of social and cultural anthropology
Click on the full text of the book and then search for your topic (the magnifying glass icon).
Dictionary of the Social Sciences
Part of Oxford Reference collection

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
comprehensive English-language dictionary
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
encyclopedias, dictionaries, quotations, crossword solver, measurement conversions, and more. Access provided via Discus