Research and Course Guides: Geology & Earth Sciences: Handbooks/Data Sources

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Oxford Reference Online: Science and Technology
Includes A Dictionary of Earth Sciences, The Oxford Companion to the Earth, A Dictionary of Ecology, A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation, and more. Can search within an individual book or across the subject area.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
Online version of the latest edition. Contains most frequently used data in Chemistry and Physics, including basic constants, units, and conversion factors. Latest edition is also available in print - QD 65 .H23 (Cooper Reference)

GEOLEX (Geologic Names Lexicon)
more...less...
Search tool for lithologic and geochronologic unit names, from the USGS
Handbook of Environmental Data on Organic Chemicals
more...less...
This book contains all the information needed to use potentially dangerous chemicals prudently. It covers natural and man-made sources of a substance, as well as its uses and various formulations.

Knovel Science and Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
Search or browse full-text of >1300 science and engineering titles provided by Knovel. Can browse titles by subject area, including those in Environment & Environmental Engineering and the Earth Sciences.
SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of critically assessed numerical data in physics, physical chemistry, biophysics, geophysics, astronomy, materials science, and technology, 1883-present

Also available in print (with indexes): Cooper Library 5th floor-QC61 .Z3

USGS National Geologic Map Database
more...less...
Find 85,000+ maps, images, data, and products from
350+ publishers.