Skip to main content

Graphic Communications: Citing

Try RefWorks!

RefWorks is a bibliography manager that allows you to create your own personal database of citations by importing references from text files or online databases.

You can use these references in writing your papers & automatically format the paper & the bibliography in seconds.

Contact Bobby Hollandsworth, RefWorks Coordinator (hollan4@clemson.edu; (864) 656-3118)

Standard Citation Formats

APA (American Psychological Association) Style is commonly used in social science & business writing.  You may be required to follow it for your citations.

See the Clemson Libraries' Brief Guide to Using APA Style, a 4-page PDF.  You may also request a copy or consult the Publication Manual at the Library Services Desk in the Cooper Library lobby.

Citing the Occupational Outlook Handbook

  • Web page (with update or creation date provided).
    • U. S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. (2012, March 29).  Printing workers.  In Occupational outlook handbook (2012-2013 ed.).  Retrieved from http://www.bls.gov/ooh/production/printing-workers.htm

    Automatic Citations

    • Many databases provide citations for the articles they list.  You must click first on the article title in the results list, then on Cite (in right side bar) to to see examples you can copy & paste into your bibliography.
      • Business Source Complete
      • Academic Search Complete

      Not Sure What to Cite?

      Tips from the University Libraries:

      Need Citation Help?

      Come to the Library Services Desk in Cooper Library's lobby for personal assistance with citing your sources.

      These and other complete printed style manuals are available: