Skip to main content

Library Resources to Support Online Learning During the COVID-19 Outbreak

Library Resources and Services for Online Learning

The Clemson Libraries are here to support students and faculty during the move to online learning in response to the coronavirus outbreak. There are many ways we can provide you with expert help and services while you are working online, even though our facilities are closed.  Some services may take longer than usual due to reduced staffing and limited access to library materials both at Clemson and at other academic libraries. 

Curbside Pick Up for Books & Technology

Clemson Libraries will begin offering a Curbside Pickup service open to all Clemson students, faculty, and staff starting August 12th for both books and technology like cameras, voice recorders, etc. Home Delivery will no longer be available to local students, faculty, or staff as the University transitions into the Fall 2020 semester. 

Request items from the Libraries Catalog and pick them up at Cooper Library during the designated times below:

Monday……………….11:00 - 2:00

Tuesday……………....11:00 - 2:00 & 4:00 - 6:00

Wednesday…………..11:00 - 2:00

Thursday…….............11:00 - 2:00 & 4:00 - 6:00

Friday………………....11:00 - 2:00

Email notifications will verify a request is ready for pickup, at which time you can drive up, ride up, or walk up to the west side of Cooper Library (facing Rhodes Hall) and call our Curbside Pickup number to inform the Libraries of your arrival. Designated parking spots and signage will help to guide you to the pickup location and provide further information on picking up your request!

Curbside Pickup Phone Number: 864-656-1792 

Instructional Opportunities - Fall 2020

COVID-19 Library Instruction Policy

Library instruction for courses will be provided only online for the fall semester 2020 and will be offered either synchronously or asynchronously. Library classroom spaces will be prepared for library instructors to record sessions or to provide train-the-trainer sessions for small groups of individuals who may need more detailed instruction. This kind of instruction will only be provided if all attendees are wearing the proper protective mask and if all follow social distancing guidelines. Online instruction will be offered both synchronously (live) and asynchronously (self-paced). If the teaching faculty and the librarian both agree that F2F is the best option and they take appropriate steps to ensure safety, that F2F instruction can be arranged.

If you're a professor moving your course online, consider partnering with Clemson Libraries:

Contact your Subject Librarian to talk about the options!

Online Materials and Tools

The Clemson Libraries have plenty of digital materials available for you if you can’t make it to campus to pick up physical items.

  • Research & Course Guides - Guides to help you find the best databases to search and provide hints and tips for finding just the right thing for your research needs.
     
  • Libraries FindIt - Search the Library Catalog and select databases for articles. Use the filters on the left side of the screen to focus on ebooks, streaming audio or video, and other online resources.
     
  • Articles & Research Databases - Hundreds of databases provide access to journal articles, magazines, newspapers, video, and more. Most require log in using your Clemson ID and password.
     
  • Access to e-textbooks - See E-textbooks box on the Getting Online Articles and Books tab.
     
  • Access to streaming media - check with your librarian if you need access to streaming media
     
  • Clemson Digital Collections - Primary sources in Clemson’s digital collections or contact an archivist from Special Collections and Archives to assist in incorporating the use of primary resources in your instruction.
     
  • TigerPrints - Clemson theses and dissertations and as well as other scholarly works created by Clemson faculty, staff, and students.

Have other remote needs? New ideas for how the Libraries can help you off-campus? Send your comments to us.

Get Online Help

  • Get Research Help Online

Need help with research or finding peer reviewed articles? Last minute citation question? Ask us! You can email us, text us (864-762-4884), or chat with a librarian from the convenience of your home!

  • Schedule a Consultation with a Librarian
    Subject librarians with expertise in specific areas are available for remote consultations via phone, email, or online (e.g. Zoom). These librarians can talk you through any research issue you may be having in real time.