Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Below are selected databases most closely related to writing, rhetoric, communication, and media generally.
For both specific contexts (business, medicine, engineering, etc.) and multi-subject databases, see individual subject guides. If you know the title of the database you want, go to the A to Z databases list.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
communication studies, mass media, and journalism (coverage varies; some journals go back to the early 1900s)
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
film and television theory, preservation & restoration, cinematography, and more; 1950s-present
MLA International Bibliography
literature, language, linguistics, rhetoric, composition, film, & folklore, 1926-present
more than 600,000 journal articles and book citations; 1940-present
psychology and related fields, 1872-present
Web of Science - All Databases
Indexes several thousand multidisciplinary research journals and provides cited reference searching. Coverage: 1965-present
With the exception of Web of Science, the databases to the left can be searched simultaneously. Open one, then look for the Choose databases link above the Select a field box. Put a check mark in the box by the databases you want to search and then click the OK button.
You can use FindIt to do a broad search of the Libraries catalog and many of our databases.
If the full text isn't online...
- If you can't get to the full text of the article from the particular database, try pasting the title of the article into FindIt.
- If the article doesn't come up, go to our journal search page and type in the name of the journal/magazine/newspaper the article is in.
- If we don't have access to the journal, request the article through Interlibrary Loan.