Skip to main content

Energy: Government Documents

This guide covers Clemson and library resources relating to many aspects of energy

Government Technical Reports Collection

Cooper Library had a historical collection of technical reports - most of them disseminated by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) from the mid-1970s to 1997. We no longer maintain this collection, as most reports are available electronically.

Subject access to this collection is available using two print Indexes:  Government Reports Announcements (GRA), C 51.9/3: and Energy Research Abstracts (ERA), E 1.17:. Both are shelved in the Government Documents Collection on the 3rd floor.

South Carolina Energy Office Documents

The Energy Office at the S.C. Budget and Control Board has several collections of documents available online relating to energy and utilities use in South Carolina.

How to Find a U.S. Government Publication

Federal government publications are arranged by the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification number on the third floor of the Library. Publications are grouped together by issuing agency. The example below shows how the SuDoc classification number C 61.34: 987 is constructed for the publication U.S. Industrial Outlook:

         Commerce Department (issuing agency)

61.        International Trade Administration

34:       Number designating the title (subordinate bureau)

1987   Date

Energy SuDoc Numbers

Some government departments are more likely to have publications relating to energy than others. Below are some of the areas likely to see a number of documents relating to energy, but remember, other classifications may have sources, too.

Department SuDoc Classification
Energy Department E
Environmental Protection Agency EP
National Academy of Sciences NA
National Science Foundation NSF
Transportation Department TD
House & Senate Reports & Documents Y1
Congressional Committee Hearings Y4

Office of Scientific and Technical Information SciTech Connect

The Department of Energy (DOE) has created an online home for free, publicly available publications though the Office of Scientific and Technical Information.  This portal, SciTech Connect, allows you to search for the topic you're interested in and will be updated as more publications are available digitally.

Search the Library Catalog

Need Help?

Ask A Librarian

Phone

864-656-3027

Toll Free

877-886-2389

Text

864-762-4884

Email

ask@clemson.libanswers.com