Research and Course Guides: Architecture: Journals|Magazines

Scholarly Architecture/Design Journals

Note: the icon JSTOR icon links to full-text back issues in the JSTOR database.

AA Files (Annals of the Architectural Assoc. School of Architecture)
Library has: print (1989-2012) and

Indexed in Avery, Art Index Full Text
Architectural History (UK)
Library has: print and

Indexed in Avery, Art Index Full Text
ARQ: Architectural Research Quarterly (London)
Library has: online only

Indexed in Avery, Art Index Full Text
ARQ Chile [Spanish]
Library has: print and online

Indexed in Avery, Art Index Full Text

Arris
Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians Southeast Chapter. Some issues in print at CDCL.
Buildings (Basel, Switzerland)
Open-access, peer-reviewed

Buildings & Landscapes
Library has: online only

Indexed in Avery
Environment and Behavior
Library has: print (1969-2004) and online

Indexed in Avery
Environment and Planning. B, Planning & Design
Library has: print and online from 2006-to 2016; title change: Environment & Planning. B. Urban Analytics and City Science, 2016-

Indexed in Avery
Environment, Development, and Sustainability
Library has: online only
Grey Room
Library has: online (up to one year ago) and

Indexed in Avery, Art Index Full Text, ArtBibliographies Modern, DAAI
Harvard Design Magazine
Library has: print only

Indexed in Avery, Art Index Full Text, DAAI
HERD / Health Environments Research & Design Journal
Library has: print and online
Journal of Architectural and Planning Research
Library has: print and online; selected articles (1998-present) available online via Art Full Text database and JSTOR.

Indexed in Avery, Art Full Text
Journal of Architectural Education (JAE)
Library has: print (1947-1975), print (1995-2001), and

Indexed in Avery, Art Index Full Text
Journal of Architectural Engineering
Library has: print (1995-2001) and online

Indexed in Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
Journal of Green Building
Library has: print (2009-2010) and online

Indexed in Avery
Journal of Urban Design
Library has: print (1996-2005) and online

Indexed in CSA Abstracts
JSAH / Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians
Library has: print (1945-2012) and

Indexed in Avery, Art Index Full Text
Perspecta [The Yale Architectural Journal]
Library has: print and

Indexed in Avery, Art Index Full Text
Places
Library has: print (1986-2009) and online ( - 2009)

Indexed in Avery, Art Index Full Text
The PLAN Journal
Online, 2016 - ; click on article title for access to 'Subscriber only' content.

TAD: Technology/Architecture + Design
Online 2017 (vol 1, issue 1) -

Winterthur Portfolio
Library has: print (2005-2007) and

The PLAN Journal (2016 - ) peer-reviewed, option to publish open-access without a fee.
TAD: Technology / Architecture + Design, "peer-reviewed international journal dedicated to the advancement of scholarship in the field of building technology, with a focus on the impact, translation and integration of technology in architecture and design."
GA Residential Masterpieces. ARCH OVERSIZE NA680 .R475

Professional/Trade Design Magazines

CDCL indicates a title also available in print at the Clemson Design Center Library in Charleston.

306090: a journal of emergent architectural design
A + U / Architecture and Urbanism
alt title Kenchiku to toshi
Abitare
Architect
Architect's Handbook of Professional Practice
Architect's Journal, The
AD / Architectural Design
1971-
AD / Architectural Design
1947-1969
Architectural Digest
Architectural Lighting
Architectural Products
Architectural Record
Architectural Review
Architektur + Wettbewerbe
Archivos de Arquitectura Antillana
Arquitectura Viva
AV Monografías
Baumeister
Blueprint
Blueprints
National Building Museum
Building Design and Construction
Buildings
Bulletin
Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy
Canadian Architect
Casabella
Centropa (2003-2010)
Competitions Annual
Conservation
El Croquis
CDCL
Design-Build Dateline
Design Issues
Design Solutions
Detail
Dixie Contractor
Domus
Dwell
East Architect's Newspaper, The
Ekistics
Fabric Architecture
Fine Homebuilding
FMR: the magazine of Franco Maria Ricci
GA Document
GA Houses (Global Architecture Houses)
Green Places (Landscape Design Trust)
Healthcare Design
ID The International Design Magazine
Indoor + Built Environment
Japan Architect, The
Kenchiku to toshi (A + U; Architecture and Urbanism)
Lighting Design + Application
Lotus
1991-
Lotus International
1974-1990
Metal Architecture
Metal Roofing
Metropolis
Old House Journal
Praxis: Journal of Writing + Building
Quaderns
2004-
Quaderns
1988-2004
Residential Design & Build
RIBA Journal
1993 -
RIBA Journal
1960-1986
RIBA Journal
1893-1960
Rural Builder
SAH News: Society of Architectural Historians newsletter
Public access, 2014-
Society of Architectural Historians of Great Britain newsletter
South Carolina Architecture
Tectónica: monografías
Urban Land
Urban Land Green

Additional Journal Resources

Directory of Open Access Journals
Search for articles OR journals, or browse journals by subject. The link here is to Arts & Architecture title browse.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 1,300 core scholarly journals. Search for articles, or browse journal titles by subject.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Access to 300+ full text journals in the arts and humanities, social science and mathematics. Coverage (in some cases) extends from 1993-present.

Architecture: Journals|Magazines

Scholarly Architecture/Design Journals

Professional/Trade Design Magazines

Additional Journal Resources

Need More?