Research and Course Guides: STS 1010: Survey of Science & Technology in Society (Grant): Databases

Suggested Databases

The databases below are some of the best bets for finding information for this STS course.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This expansive collection covers all disciplines with well over 5,000 journals and magazines included. This resource is an upgrade to the Academic Search Complete collection.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
more than 1,300 full-text scholarly journals
Access made possible with funding from the Class of '55 and Callie Jones Shirley Library Endowments
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
full-text articles from Los Angeles Times, New York Times, New York Times Book Review, New York Times Magazine, Wall Street Journal (eastern edition), Washington Post, and Chicago Tribune; dates vary by newspaper
Access made possible with funding from the William J. Latimer Endowment
Google Scholar (with Clemson links) This link opens in a new window
search for scholarly literature in all disciplines
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)(Gale) This link opens in a new window
over 136,000 of the most significant English-language works published in the United Kingdom 1701-1800 plus many works in Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Spanish, and Welsh
Washington Post, Historical This link opens in a new window
full-text articles; 1877-1992
Illustrated London News, 1842-2003 This link opens in a new window
This is the world's first pictorial weekly newspaper. In 1855 it launched the world's first colour supplement. Over the years the publication played host to distinguished contributors and continued to push the boundaries of journalism throughout its history.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
primary source materials covering British literature, theatre, and music, European literature, and religion and reform issues during the long nineteenth century

Internet History Sourcebooks Project

The Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
This includes the complete text of The Times of London from 1785-2019.

More sources

Catalog

Artstor Digital Library (Artstor is part of JSTOR; current platform will sunset on 8/1/24) This link opens in a new window
Artstor provides more than 2.4 million images of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, photojournalism, decorative arts, design, and visual culture.
Books, Articles & More (Primo) This link opens in a new window
Search for articles, books, eJournals, and items in the Clemson Libraries catalog.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
current controversial issues; 1995-present
Global Issues in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
focuses on broad issues from a global perspective. Includes full-text newspapers, magazines, journals, country information, reference sources, statistics, videos, and interactive maps.

Database Search Tips

1. Use simple terms

Use short, simple words or phrases. Don't type in your entire topic as one sentence.

Example: If you're writing about "the importance of peer relationships in the developmental stage of middle childhood," search only the key words/phrases: peer relationships and development and childhood.

2. Use search symbols (Boolean)

or = expand your search by including different forms of a word. Examples: Stocks or bonds. Cats or felines.

" " = search for a specific phrase. Example: "World War Two"

* = add 1-5 characters to the end of a word. Examples: Panda* finds panda and pandas. Inter* finds internal and internet.

3. Start broad

If you get too many results, you can always narrow your search terms later.