Research and Course Guides: AuE 4030: Automotive Project Tools and Prototyping (Kivett): Industry and Market Research

This guide will help you find resources related to marketing research. If you have any questions or need additional help, please don't hesitate to contact Meredith Futral, Business Librarian, at mfutral@clemson.edu

Key Databases

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
U.S. Industry Reports include industry overviews with key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants, industry outlook, products and markets, and the competitive landscape. Also includes U.S. Industry iExpert Summary Reports that condense the integral elements from the industry reports into bite-sized paragraphs, charts and tables.

MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Uses published desk research and secondary data sources to create Company, Industry, and Country Profiles Browse Industries search includes: 23 industry categories, U.S. and Global reports, Market Size, Market Segmentation, Competitive Landscape, Market Share, Market Forecasts

MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Full-text market research reports Reports Include: Market Intelligence on Consumer Demographics, Market Size & Growth Trends, Industry Forces & Structure, Product Trends, Competitive Environment Analysis, Company Profiles (short)

Mintel Academic Access This link opens in a new window
Access to market research reports including consumer data and GNPD (Global New Products Database) with information on product introductions that can be searched by packaging, company, country, ingredients, brand, launch date, and other criteria.

Business Insights (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This resource provides company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and business-related articles.

MarketScope Advisor (CFRA) This link opens in a new window
Detailed insights on industries and sectors, and stocks, ETFs, and mutual funds. Download Industry Surveys (formerly S&P Industry Surveys), Stock Reports, Sector Scorecard, Thematic Research, and market news and commentary.

Statistical Data

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources. Users can analyze market research, obtain customized infographics, explore trends in consumer behavior, and search for an array of related content.

Google Trends
Allows you to see the topics people are—or aren’t—following

Other Industry Databases

International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window Includes approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas, exchange rate series, major fund accounts series as well as country, world, and commodity prices tables.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window Information about Clemson University holdings of ICPSR social science datasets. Access to ICPSR is available for Clemson faculty, staff, and students.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new window University research institute working papers, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, journals and policy briefs. Also includes original case studies written by leading international affairs experts and course packs of background readings
Faulkner's Advisory on Computer and Communications Technologies (FACCTS) This link opens in a new window market research and product information for the computer industry

Industry Classification Websites

Key Business Ratios (KBR) This link opens in a new window provides key business ratios for public and private companies in 800 lines of business; Dun & Bradstreet and Mergent
Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window access to Digitized Corporate Manual, Digitized Municipal & Government Manual Collections, and Key Business Ratios (KBR)
Value Line Library Research Center This link opens in a new window An independent investment research resource that tracks and provides analysis on approximately 3,500 publicly traded stocks in 100 industries, as well as 20,000 mutual funds. Limit: 10 simultaneous users

Value Line Investment Survey
On Reserve - HG4501 .V26
RMA Annual Statement Studies
On Reserve - HF5681.B2 R6
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
On Reserve - HF5681.R25 A45

Print Resources

Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys
Reference HC106.6 .S74
Manufacturing & Distribution
Reference HD9723 .M36
Market Share Reporter
Reference HF5415.2 .M37
Encyclopedia of American Industries
HC102 .E53