Research and Course Guides: Southern Identity: Other Online Sources

Demographic Data

Patchwork Nation
Social Explorer
South Carolina Demographics
South Carolina Statistical Abstract and South Carolina Community Profiles from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Documenting the American South
texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture
Lincoln at the Bar: Extant Case Files from the U.S. District and Circuit Courts, Southern District of Illinois 1855-1861
This collection consists of the extant files of cases from the records of the U.S. District and Circuit Courts at Springfield with which Abraham Lincoln has been identified as legal counsel, and date from 1855 to 1861. The 122 case files reproduced here include civil actions brought under both statute and common law, admiralty litigation, and a few criminal cases.

Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 - South Carolina
Includes most of the fire insurance maps of South Carolina produced by the Sanborn Map Company from the mid-1880s to around 1950. Black and white digital images produced from microform of the Sanborn maps in the Library of Congress collection. Searchable by city and date. CU users only.

Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive (See USC Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive)
The USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive allows users to search through and view more than 55,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. (Users will need to create a free account to access the information)
Ancestry Library
This provides genealogical information of all types, including census records, slave narratives, and passenger lists.

Note: Available on-campus only.
HathiTrust
HathiTrust contains millions of digitized publications from around the world, mainly from library, Google, and Internet Archive initiatives. To log in as a Clemson University member: click on LOG IN in the top right corner, select Clemson University from the dropdown menu, then Continue, and log in to the network using your CU username and password