Skip to main content

Automotive Engineering: SAE Mobilus

Search SAE Mobilus (formerly the SAE Digital Library)

Mobilus

Access to standards, journal articles, and technical papers from the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) from 1908-present, full-text from 1998-present

SAE Mobilus (formerly SAE Digital Library)

Accession Numbers

SAE does not own the full-text rights for every series of technical reports.  Consult these lists to determine which are available.

Older SAE Standards

If you need a copy of an older standard, there are several options:

Ground Vehicle Standards from SAE (standards that begin with the letter "J"), are also  included in the SAE Handbook.  We own copies of the Handbook for these years: 1981, 1983, 1985-1986, 1987:pt.2-4, 1990, 1999, 2001, 2003-2005. 

It is possibe that we have the print standard in our collection on the 6th floor of Cooper Library, at call number TA368 .A512

Full-text Journal Articles

Journal articles FROM 1998 AND NEWER are available full-text in SAE Mobilus.  If you need an older one:

  • Do a search in the SAE Digital Library
     
  • From the results, determine that the group/content type listed as journal
     
  • Look at the Document Source.  That is the title of a journal.
     
  • Do a journal title search in the library catalog for whatever is listed as the Document Source
     
  • Follow the links to an electronic version of the journal (if available) or information about our print holdings
     
  • Sometimes the links in the Library catalog will take you to a different database and you will have to redo your search
     
  • Sometimes it will take you directly to a publication’s site and you will have to drill down to get the proper date

If the journal article is not available at Clemson, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.

SAE Technical Papers

SAE Technical Reports 1998 and newer are generally available in SAE Mobilus (formerly the SAE Digital Library.)  If the report you want is not available full text, follow the link below to request it through ILLIAD.  The Library will obtain the report for you in pdf format.

SAE Standards

We have access to SAE Ground Vehicle Standards via SAE Mobilus (formerly the SAE Digital Library.)  There is also information about SAE Aerospace Standards, and Off Road Standards, but no access to the standards.

If you need a copy of a standard that we do not have, request it via ILLIAD.  The library will provide a pdf copy.