Integrative Men's Health by
As a field, men's health is far behind women's health in terms of the availability of reliable, scientifically based information that men, their partners, and health care providers can rely on when seeking information and treatment. Moreover, integrative approaches are becoming more popular with men whose healthcare providers understand that most of the leading causes of morbidity and mortality in men, including cardiovascular disease, cancer, urologic disease, and sexual dysfunction, can be ameliorated using an integrative approach, with more emphasis on the patient-provider relationship, lifestyle change, and the use of proven complementary modalities.Integrative Men's Health provides an evidence-based perspective on the health problems that affect men and the ways in which such problems may be prevented or treated utilizing a broad armamentarium of approaches - from conventional tools to complementary modalities. All chapters take into consideration of all the factors that influence men's health including body, mind, and spirit in a way that neither rejects alternative approaches nor accepts any of them uncritically.
The Encyclopedia of Men's Health by
Many health risks to men can be prevented and treated if they are diagnosed early. An important book for people of all ages, The Encyclopedia of Men's Health, Second Edition offers a complete overview of the medical, scientific, social, and lifestyle issues that impact men's health. Hundreds of A-to-Z entries cover issues related to men's physical and mental health and well-being, including physiology, life span, diseases and conditions (including treatment protocols, procedures, and surgeries), genetics, medications, vitamins and supplements, psychology, sports medicine, sexual health, relationships, men's fertility, fatherhood, and more. Allopathic, complementary, and integrative approaches to men's health are also discussed. A glossary of key terms rounds out this comprehensive reference.
A Handbook of Men's Health by
This title is directed primarily towards health care professionals outside of the United States. It provides detailed information on procedures and investigations that encourage the development of competencies such as assessing men's physical and mental health, identifying men's information needs, and directing men to supportive organisations and resources. evidence-based information boxes highlighting key points and concepts guidelines issued by professional bodies to promote best practice exercises encouraging critical reflection on current practices and social norms a wide range of websites and references to important resources
Men's Health and Illness by
A multidisciplinary, international approach is taken in this volume which contextualizes men's health issues within the broader theoretical framework of men's studies. The contributors argue that gender is a key factor for understanding the patterns of men's health risks, the ways men perceive and use their bodies and men's psychological adjustment to illness itself. The first part introduces perspectives of men's studies and their relevance to understanding men's health. Part Two explores the links between traditional gender roles, men's health and larger structural and cultural contexts. Part Three looks at the implications of multiple masculinities for health issues, while the final section of the book examines the psychosocial aspects of men's health.
Dying to Be Men: Psychosocial, Environmental, and Biobehavioral Directions in Promoting the Health of Men and Boys by
Masculinity has a powerful effect on the health of men and boys. Indeed, many of the behaviors they use to "be men" actually increase their risk of disease, injury, and death. In this book, Dr. Will Courtenay, an internationally recognized expert on men's health, provides a foundation for understanding this troubling reality. With a comprehensive review of data and literature, he identifies specific gender differences in the health-related attitudes, beliefs, and behaviors of men and boys and the health consequences of these differences. He then describes the powerful social, environmental, institutional, and cultural influences that encourage their unhealthy behaviors and constrain their adoption of healthier ones. In the book's third section, he more closely examines the health needs of specific populations of men, such as ethnic-minority men, rural men, men in college, and men in prisons. Courtenay also provides four empirical studies conducted with multidisciplinary colleagues that examine the associations between masculinity and men and boys' health beliefs and practices. Finally, he provides specific strategies and an evidence-based practice guideline for working with men in a variety of settings, as well as a look to the future of men's health. Medical professionals, social workers, public health professionals, school psychologists, college health professionals, mental health practitioners, academics, and researchers from a broad array of disciplines, and anyone interested in this topic will find it to be an extensively researched and accessible volume.
Urological Men's Health by
Urological Men's Health: A Guide for Urologists and Primary Care Physicians covers the major urologic conditions that have an impact on the health and well being of the adult male. It opens with an overview of general men's preventative health, as practiced by a world leading Executive Health center. The volume covers the major genitourinary malignancies and addresses the latest controversies in screening and treatment selection. This is followed by coverage of the conditions that don't shorten life but have major impact on quality of life and health care expenditure: BPH, urinary incontinence, infertility, urethral strictures, erectile dysfunction, urinary tract infections and chronic pelvic pain. Also included are chapters on herbal and complementary therapy, psychological and spousal support in urologic illness and the links between genitourinary disease and general vascular endothelial dysfunction. Urological Men's Health: A Guide for Urologists and Primary Care Physicians will be of great value to Urologists, Internists, General Practitioners and the residents and fellows who train within these specialties.