Research and Course Guides: Nursing, Health Care, &amp; Medicine: Find Articles

Best Bet Resources

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
more than 730 full-text journals in nursing and allied health; 1937-present
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
human and veterinary medicine and healthcare; mid-1960s-present

PubMed (with Clemson links)
human and veterinary medicine and healthcare information, including Medline; mid-1960s-present

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Emerging Sources Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus; dates vary by index
Health and Wellness Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
medicine, health, nutrition, fitness, and related fields; 1980-present
Health Reference Center Academic (Gale) This link opens in a new window
medicine, health, nutrition, fitness, and related fields; 1980-present
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
journals, dissertations, Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets from the Joanna Briggs Institute

Biological and Agricultural Index
articles from agriculture, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, and physics journals
Limit: 4 simultaneous users
Biological Science Database
animal behavior, aquatic sciences, ecology, genetics, industrial and applied microbiology, and toxicology, 2000-present; Conference Papers Index, 1982-present; TOXLINE, 1996-present; formerly Biological Sciences
BioOne Complete
full-text database of high-impact bioscience research journals; 2000-present
BIOSIS
biology, medicine, agriculture, and related fields; 1969-present
Food Science & Technology
includes food technology, human nutrition, biotechnology, toxicology, and packaging; 1990-present
Limit: 4 simultaneous users

Health and Safety Science Abstracts
public health, safety, and industrial hygiene; 1981-present
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
full-text nursing and allied health information; 1975-present
Index to Chiropractic Literature
chiropractic medicine; 1985-present
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
biomedical and genomic information

Ovid Emcare This link opens in a new window
Ovid Emcare provides access to 3,700+ international journals, more than 70,000 preferred terms in EMTREE, all mapped to MEDLINE’s MeSH, and nearly 5 million records dating back to 1995, updated weekly.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
full-text articles and protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare
Limit: 1 user at a time
JBI Evidence Based Practice Database (Ovid)
JBI is an evidence-based practice resource for healthcare professionals. This was previously named Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) Database.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Select "Evidence-Based Practice" in Advanced Search, or specify publication type.
Cochrane Controlled Trials Register
bibliography of controlled clinical trials
Limit: 1 user at a time
Cochrane Methodology Register
bibliography of publications that report on methods used in controlled trials
Cochrane Clinical Answers
clinical support tool that provides short answers to medical practice questions at the point of care, based on evidence from Cochrane Systematic Reviews

FastStats This link opens in a new window
statistics on public health topics from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
search or scroll down to browse by available subjects and categories
MedCalc 3000 This link opens in a new window
a wide array of medical formulae, clinical criteria sets, and decision tree analysis tools
Health Technology Assessments This link opens in a new window
details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments from around the world
3D Anatomy & Physiology This link opens in a new window
19 fully-interactive modules of key anatomy and physiology concepts

Orange Book This link opens in a new window
FDA-approved drug products with therapeutic equivalence evaluations
TOXLINE This link opens in a new window
index to articles and reports on chemicals, pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, mutagens, and teratogens; 1996-present
FDA Poisonous Plant Database This link opens in a new window
This provides references to scientific literature on the toxic properties and effects of plants and plant parts.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
more than 3 million records on peer-reviewed literature; 1872-present
ICONDA (Construction Database) This link opens in a new window
construction sciences; 1976-present
Limit: 4 simultaneous users
Engineering Village (Compendex, GeoRef, INSPEC & Knovel) This link opens in a new window
This platform provides access to content in engineering and related fields from 1884-present.

Access made possible with funding from the Callie Jones Shirley Library Endowment with 1884-1969 backfile access courtesy of the Class of '55