Last Updated: Apr 1, 2013
URL: http://clemson.libguides.com/free
Print Guide
- findarticles.com
Provided by BNET - an organization that "provides working professionals with the tools, advice, and insight they need to succeed in today's workplace."
- DOAJ Directory of Open Access Journals
Browse or search hundreds of free online scientific and scholarly journals
- Intute - Home
Based in the UK, Intute is a free online service that helps you to find the best web resources for your studies and research.
- Google Scholar
- InterDok - Directory of Published Proceedings
Search proceeding in Science/Technology, Medical/Life Sciences, Pollution Control/Ecology, and Social Sciences/Humanities
- INFOMINE
A virtual library of Internet resources relevant to faculty, students, and research staff at the university level. It contains useful Internet resources such as databases, electronic journals, electronic books, bulletin boards, mailing lists, online library catalogs, articles, directories of researchers, and more.
- JSTOR Early Journal Content
Nearly 500,000 full-text articles published before 1923 from JSTOR
- AgEcon Search
AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, including: working papers, conference papers, and journal articles
- Agricola
Agriculture and related fields, 1975 - present
- AGRIS/CARIS Information Center
Contains over 2.5 million bibliographic references which provide access to a large collection of world literature covering all aspects of agricultural sciences and technology, including grey literature. 1975 - date
- Alternative Farming Systems Information Center
Links to databases on sustainable and/or alternative agriculture
- Core Historical Literature of Agriculture
An electronic collection of agriculture texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science.
- Dendrome (Forestry)
Dendrome is a collection of forest tree genome databases and other forest genetic information resources for the international forest genetics community.
- E-Answers
A dynamic, online resource that brings more than 250,000 pages of university information and education into your home or office — when and where you need it. The practical, current, and unbiased information in this site represents the work of Extension Service and Agricultural Experiment Station professionals at more than 50 Land Grant universities throughout the United States.
- NASS - National Agricultural Statistics Service
- Treesearch
all publications from the United States Forest Service
- Turfgrass Information File: Worldwide Access to Turfgrass Science Information -- BASIC SEARCH
Information from over 320 journals and magazines, research reports, conference proceedings, technical reports, books, theses and more. 1921 - present
- USDA Plants Database
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
- BioOne
- Birds of North America (BNA) Online
- Darwin Online
The complete works of Charles Darwin
- Entrez - The Life Sciences Search Engine
Integrated, text-based search and retrieval system used at NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) for the major databases, including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man), and others. Some databases contain both textual information and references. Coverage: varies
- Genomics Resources
Links to a number of databases
- PrimateLit Database
scientific literature on non-human primates, 1940-present
- Searchable Ornithological Research Archive (SORA)
An open access electronic journal archive which is the product of a collaboration between the American Ornithologists Union, the Cooper Ornithological Society, the Association of Field Ornithologists, the Wilson Ornithological Society and the University of New Mexico libraries and IT department. It provides access to an extensive Ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of Ornithology in North America over the last 120 years.
- TOXNET
a collection of toxicology and environmental health databases. TOXNET includes the Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB®), a database of potentially hazardous chemicals, TOXLINE® (containing references to the world's toxicology literature), and ChemIDplus® (a chemical dictionary and structure database).
- BioMed Central | The Open Access Publisher
BioMed Central's portfolio of 206 journals includes general titles such as Journal of Biology alongside specialist journals (e.g. BMC Bioinformatics, Malaria Journal) that focus on particular disciplines . All the research published by BioMed Central's journals is open access, but BioMed Central also provides access to various additional products and services that require a subscription.
- CareSearch, palliative care knowledge network
An initiative of the Australian Government, the database is designed for health professionals, patients, families and friends.
- FASTSTATS - Homepage
quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance
- PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset
Index of articles on dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, and botanicals.
- PubMed (Medline)
PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web sites.
- Orange Book
FDA Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations
- Hom-Inform
citations from the British Homeopathic Library
- Index to Chiropractic Literature
- NIOSH TIC-2
NIOSHTIC-2 is a searchable bibliographic database of occupational safety and health publications, documents, grant reports, and other communication products supported in whole or in part by NIOSH. NIOSHTIC-2 contains 46,992 total citations.