Last Updated: Sep 25, 2013
Finding the Answers to Legal Questions: A How-To-Do-It Manual
Call Number: KF240 .T83 2011
Nolo's Encyclopedia of Everyday Law
Call Number: KF387 .N65 2011
Also called "decisions," "opinions" or "reports."
Within the "Look up a Legal Case" box you can search or click "Cases." You can also choose "US Legal" from the left sidebar & select "Federal & State Cases." Use the drop-down menu to choose a state. CU subscription.
- Landmark US Legal Cases (LexisNexis)
Click the "Landmark Cases" link in the "Look up a Legal Case" box. Cases are arranged alphabetically by broad topic, with case names, concise summaries & links to the full text. CU subscription.
- HeinOnline: U.S. Supreme Court Library
Complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports (Supreme Court decisions) bound volumes back to 1754, as well as preliminary prints, slip opinions, & books & periodicals related to the U.S. Supreme Court are included in this library. CU subscription.
Also called "statutes," "acts," or "codes." "Regulations" too have the force of law.
Choose "US Legal" from the left sidebar & select "Federal Statutes, Codes & Regulations" or "State Statutes, Codes & Regulations." Coverage of public laws begins with 1988; state codes are for the latest complete session. CU subscription.
- HeinOnline: United States Code
This collection includes complete coverage of the United States Code dating back to inception in 1925-1926. CU subscription.
- HeinOnline: U.S. Statutes at Large
Complete text of Public Laws back to 1789, with additional early federal codes & compilations of statutes. CU subscription.
CFR coverage is comprehensive, containing more than 8,500 volumes dating back to inception (1938).
The Federal Register is updated on a daily basis. Coverage is comprehensive & begins from inception (1936). CU subscription.