This is the "Home" page of the "Sociology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sociology  

Last Updated: Jul 8, 2014 URL: http://clemson.libguides.com/soc Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Use the tabs above for instructions on:

Searching for articles 


Getting copies of articles that aren't full text in databases 


Finding books and e-books  


Finding statistics and demographic data 


Finding dissertations and theses 


Using ASA style and other writing help

Overviews

These electronic sources will give you basic overviews of concepts in the discipline:

  • Oxford Dictionary of Sociology
    This dictionary of sociology provides over 2500 entries. It includes coverage of the major concepts from related disciplines and international coverage of terms, methods, and concepts, as well as biographical entries on major figures.
  • Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology
    Short entries on important terms in the field, with references to source books for more information. Also covers methodological and statistical concepts, biographical sketches.
  • Sociology for Dummies
    Don't laugh! These books are great as a starting point for understanding a topic.
  • LGBT Life
    all aspects of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender life, coverage dates vary by publication
 

Need Something Else?

Professors: Need a LibGuide tailored for your specific course or assignment?  Contact me.

Students: Have a question or need help using a resource?   Ask any librarian.

Sociology Contact Information

Profile Image
Gypsey Elaine Teague
Contact Info
Branch Head, Gunnin Architecture Library
Office Hours: Cooper Library Room 403
Tuesday 10-12 and Thursday 1-3.
Send Email