Research and Course Guides: Sociology: Dissertations & Gray Literature

Dissertations & Theses Full Text

Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
index to 3.8 million dissertations and theses in all subject areas with 600,000+ in full text; 1861-present

Dissertations for Meta-Analyses

In order to do an exhaustive meta-analysis, sometimes graduate students are looking for dissertations and theses that are not included in the ProQuest database. Some likely sources for these in English are:

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
The NDLTD Union Catalog is "a collaborative effort of the NDLTD, OCLC, VTLS, and Scirus, containing more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations."
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Free full-text access to theses and dissertations from over 1100 Universities around the world
National Library of Australia’s Trove
Must search for topic and limit to theses. Includes digitized PhD and Masters theses produced at Australian Universities
Theses Canada Portal
Searches AMICUS, Canada's national online catalogue, for the full text electronic versions of numerous Canadian theses and dissertations
DART - Europe e-Theses Portal
Access to digitized theses from European universities. You can limit by language and country.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
global catalog of library collections with items from over 10,000 libraries
Limit: 4 simultaneous users

Other "Grey Literature" Sites

Grey literature is work that falls outside of the ordinary publication stream (reports, proceedings, dissertations, preprints).

BASE
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 140 million documents from more than 6,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access).
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
OpenGrey
System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe, is your open access to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) produced in Europe.
MetaLIb
MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
ADVANCE
more...less...
A social sciences preprints service offered by Sage in partnership with Figshare