Research and Course Guides: Crusade & Conquest: Scholarly Articles & Book Reviews

Scholarly Journals

Journal of Medieval History
Call Number: D111 .J6
v.1 (1975)-v.5 (1979), v.7 (1981)-v.8 (1982), v.16 (1990)-v.27 (2001) in Print

1997-present online
Speculum
1926-present online

Find More Journals

Journal Title Search

Key Databases

The Libraries subscribe to more than 400 databases (searchable computerized files) that cover journal articles from every discipline. Here are some highlights for historical research:

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A great starting point for full-text articles from history journals, as well as magazines containing book reviews
Iter This link opens in a new window
More than 1.1 million citations for secondary source material about the European Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of full-text scholarly journals, including nearly 250 titles in history. Latest 5 years may not be covered, but links to other databases may lead to full text.
Google Scholar (with Clemson links) This link opens in a new window
If you are on the campus network, this source will often link to full text articles from online journals subscribed to by the Clemson Libraries.

An Important Printed Index

International Medieval Bibliography
Call Number: Z6203 .I63
Along with Iter, one of the two most important discovery tools for writings on medieval history. Our set must be consulted year-by-year.

Look for Specialized Journals like these

Articles in scholarly journals are reliable secondary sources because they employ primary sources as evidence.

Book Reviews

In many databases, adding the word "review" to a search for phrases from the book's title will find book reviews.

Other databases allow you to check a box or select reviews.

Academic Search Complete
- on the initial page, choose Document Type "Book Review"
JSTOR
- in the Advanced Search, check the Item Type box beside "Review"
Iter
- in the Advanced Search, select Type of Work "Review"

Scholarly vs. Popular

Scholarly publications are meant to be read by specialists:

In-depth coverage of a narrow topic
Longer articles, usually divided into labelled sections
Illustrations are rare (often only tables & charts)
Author (s) with credentials & affiliations provided
References to previous research always included

Popular publications (like magazines) are designed for a broad audience:

General treatment of a topic
Short, easily accessible articles
Colorful pictures & ads
Author may not be identified
No footnotes or references included