Skip to main content

City & Regional Planning: Find Articles

Supporting the City & Regional Planning graduate program in the Department of Planning, Development and Preservation

Tips for Article Searching

Not all database citations include links to online full text in HTML and/or PDF format. Possible reasons:

  • The journal cited is not available electronically (increasingly rare)
  • Clemson Libraries does not subscribe to the electronic version (rare, but can happen)
  • Active links have not been configured for that particular database, or are not an option, even when Clemson Libraries subscribes to the eJournal cited (technical or vendor-based reasons)

Use the tips in the "Where is my article?" box (below) to locate an article when online full text is not readily available. Remember: Print is still your friend!

Caveat: If you limit your search to online Full Text results, you risk missing out on stuff that is available digitally in full text but is not directly linked to your database's results page! You also risk missing out on critically important articles only available in print.

"Where is my article?"

Print titles:

The most current issues of print titles are located on the Gunnin Library's Periodicals shelves, Main Level.

Back issues are in bound volumes in the Main Stacks, Lower Level, by call number. Look up the journal title in the catalog to find its call number. For the status of a specific volume, click on "View list of items" in the catalog record.

Request older back issues from Off-Site Storage by clicking on "View list of items," then the "Request from Storage" link and filling out the request form. Your article will be scanned to PDF format and emailed to you within 24 hours. If you request an entire volume, it will be available for pickup from the Library Services Desk in Cooper the next day.

Electronic titles:

Many citations in our article databases include a link directly to full text, either in HTML or PDF format.

If a direct link doesn't appear, electronic full text may still be available. Note the journal title, year, volume, and issue number in which your article appears, then click on the "Check for full text" link immediately below the article entry. This will take you to the Clemson Library catalog record for all formats of the journal. If the journal is available online, click through to the specific issue number to locate your article.

Journal not in Clemson Libraries?

Use  Interlibrary Loan to request it. (If you need the entire journal issue rather than a single article, state that in the Notes box on the ILL form.)

First Stop Resources

Expand your Research

Google Scholar

If all else fails, there's always Google Scholar. Refer to Google Scholar Help and  Advanced Scholar Search Tips before you begin.

Use Resources Outside Your Comfort Zone

Use the Databases A-Z links on the homepage to browse databases by title (or keyword search the entire list using the keyboard combination Control + F). The Research link provides access to preferred databases per subject area, sorted by College.

Examples: